Over 30 nations now recognise India's Covid-19 vaccine certificate

Over 30 nations now recognise India"s Covid-19 vaccine certificate


Covishield_1  H 

Besides Britain, over 30 countries across the world have now agreed to recognise India's Covid-19 vaccine certificate, according to officials familiar with the matter. The countries that have agreed on this mutual recognition with India are France, Germany, Nepal, Belarus, Lebanon, Armenia, Ukraine, Belgium, Hungary, and Serbia, in addition to UK.

But there are a few countries, like South Africa, Brazil, Bangladesh, Botswana, China, and some in Europe, from where travellers will have to follow additional measures, when they arrive in India. These measures include a post-arrival Covid-19 test in the country and screening.

Hungary and Serbia are latest additions to this list of countries who agreed to mutually recognise India's Covid-19 vaccination certificate, said ministry of external affairs (MEA) spokesperson Arindam Bagchi.

The development comes just days after UK government removed the requirement of mandatory quarantine for vaccinated Indian passengers after India expressed its displeasure regarding this decision and imposed travel requirements on passengers from Britain in a tit-for-tat act.

Soon, Alex Ellis, British high commissioner to India, said in a tweet, “No quarantine for Indian travellers to the UK fully vaccinated with Covishield or another UK-approved vaccine from 11 October.”